Philoptochos means “friend of the poor”. The Greek Orthodox Ladies Philoptochos Society is the duly accredited women’s philanthropic society of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America, Inc. Established in 1931 by the Ecumenical Patriarch Athenagoras who was serving then as Archbishop of North and South America, Philoptochos has now grown nationally to over 450 chapters and is the largest Christian women’s philanthropic organization in the United States. Women who participate in the local chapter of Philoptochos are also automatically members of the National and Metropolis Philoptochos.  The local Philoptochos Board holds monthly planning meetings the first Sunday of every month after Liturgy in the church hall, from September through May.  Our 2011 Philoptochos Board Members are:

Mrs. Adriana Fluture, President
Mrs. Rhonda Watters, Vice-President
Dr. Laura Driscoll, Secretary
Mrs. Patricia Kofakis, Treasurer
Mrs. Maggie Azar, Board Member
Mrs. Mary Bouzis, Board Member
Mrs. Mitzi Bruno, Board Member
Mrs. Georgia Kamboris, Board Member
Mrs. Angie McCord, Board Member
Mrs. Cathy Roussalis, Board Member

Parish Council

Parish Council is a body of practicing Orthodox Christians sacramentally in good standing with the Church, elected by the members of a parish for the purpose of working together with the priest in fulfilling the goals and needs of that parish. This brief description of a local governing body also describes the fundamental structure of the Orthodox Church. That the clergy and laity together are the "People of God," seeking, to the best of their human capabilities, to fulfill the mission entrusted to them by Jesus Christ. Parish Council meets the second Thursday of the month at 7:30pm at the office of John L. Roussalis M.D. Our 2011 Parish Council Board Members are:

Dr. John E. Roussalis II, President
Dr. Adrian Fluture, Vice-President
Mrs. Mitzi Bruno, Secretary
Dr. Louis J. Roussalis, Treasurer
Mr. Nick Azar, Member and Stewardship Chair
Mr. Demetrios Bouzis, Member
Mr. John Bouzis, Member
Mr. George Kofakis, Member
Mr. Mike McCord, Member
Dr. John L. Roussalis, Member
Mr. Nick Zaharas, Member